Tick-tock tick

School doesn’t officially begin until Friday, but I still have some work to do. It’s quiet. Eerily quiet. The clock above me is keeping me grounded in the fact that I’ve not entered a zone of silence. Someone just walked down the hall wearing heels. I’m going to soak it all up and know that in a few days I’ll be counting the hours before I can crawl back into my solo space.

The between times at work are my favorite. Obviously, I love working with the students and I appreciate the static and energy. But now, this quiet ticking. My typing and the clock the only factors. A box of books to catalogue. The simplicity of solitude. It’s a special and rare treat — one I especially appreciate.

Hope everyone enjoyed their countdown and the past few days of 2010. Felice capodanno (and enjoy La Befana today)!

One response to “Tick-tock tick

  1. The students must be back by now. Glad you got to enjoy the quite at work. The only time there’s any quiet where I work is before we open the library in the morning. Regarding your New Year, Y2k memories and so forth… Just wait till next year when, as the clock ticks along, many will whip themselves into a frenzy over the coming 2012 “crises,” with doomsday scenarios surely heavily in the news by then.

Leave a Reply

