Duck butt

Well, as promised, the NC State Fair was good stuff. I ate half of a meaty, cheesy sandwich, I introduced Shelby to Kettle Corn, there were ribbon fries that we paid another vendor to cover in cheese, lovely floral displays and gardens, farm animals, chicken rooster madness, it was a great fair. But there was something that I was not prepared for — duck butt.

Apparently North Carolinians are into racing, who knew? And they hold a pig race at the fair. This may be the cutest event in the history of fairdom. Little piglets run around a loop with the promise of Cheetos driving them into a frenzy. The curly little tails,  short legs, tiny squeals and cheering from children and adult onlookers. It was too much. And followed by billy goats and pot-bellied pigs. But then, the cream on top of it all, the duck race (or were they geese?). I don’t know if I’ve ever laughed as hard as I did at that moment (with an exception of one evening watching Twilight with Lori, Mendy and Heather). I think the neighboring children were concerned with my well-being. I can’t even describe what happened. Just know that duck butts waddling in slow pursuit of some cheesy crumbs put me over the edge. I’ve been pushed back into a childlike state and I really don’t want to recover from it.

I’ll get to the pictures from that visit and the farm soon enough.

6 responses to “Duck butt

  1. I’ve got to go next year. Love duck butt. But i’m a bit scared of geese. (And wow Twilight was the funniest flick ever made that night . . .)

  2. Oh, what a great image! I laughed when I read this, just picturing those waddling ducks!

  3. I’m glad you loved the Fair. I have a serious craving for a corn dog. We did not eat enough that is for sure. Thanks for sharing in the child-like delights with me.

    I’ll post the pig race video on my blog. And they were ducks not geese so no worries Lori!

  4. Duck butts are so cute, especially when they are sticking up out of the water as the duck dabbles! I go into that child-state, also.

  5. Hello very nice site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your web site
    and take the feeds

    additionally…I am satisfied to search out a lot of

    helpful information right here in the submit, we’d

    like develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for

    sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

