Milestones, new discoveries

Today, being the 15th of September in the year 2009, is my one year anniversary of working at Westwood. Not surprisingly, there was no cake or balloons or anything really. I did get a card in the mail from the Campus President; which is thoughtful and appreciated. I share my anniversary with a girl, Vanessa, who works downstairs in admissions. We have been congratulating each other all day and both agreed it’s best not to remind people.

My goal, in taking this job, was to make it at least a year. And I made it! It’s been a bit tiring at times, but well worth it. I’m typing this in the presence of a few students working on assignments. One of them is an older student who at one point screamed at me, called me a b-word, definitely had issues with me and my rules of respect. She now calls me Julia. Hangs out in here. Thanks me at least once a week for helping her. Invites me to student events. People may not change, but situations can. And being here, getting to know a different kind of academic model — well that has changed the way I view education, students and hope. The lessons I teach them may help them get a job, be a better researcher, cite something correctly, make them think about information and how to analyze it. The lessons they taught me are written on my consciousness. Once again, my perception expands. There is too much beauty in this world to understand. At times you just have to live.

As for new discoveries, I went to Dekalb Farmers’ Market and was giddy with the spices, the deals, the whole thing. Wish I’d discovered it sooner. It actually makes me not miss Sant’ Ambrogio in Florence as much. It’s huge. It’s cheap. It’s bliss.

2 responses to “Milestones, new discoveries

  1. Congrats! And I don’t think I really understood how you had never been to the farmers market?!? I guess b/c Sean and I did a good deal of our grocery shopping there I assumed that you must have as well. I guess it is sort of a hike. I read the words Dekalb Farmer’s Market and the smell of rotting broccoli floods my brain!

  2. To me the least amount of time I imagined in my present library job was 2 years, which was passed 8 months ago. Julia, you are helping your students and doing great work, as well as moving ahead in your life’s journey.

Leave a Reply

