In celebration of September

What a better way to celebrate the end of August than with some stellar poetry. A very wise person led me to this one. I’m sending it out to you, all of you. It’s not mine — so much better. Enjoy!

I
by Wendel Berry (1979)

I go among trees and sit still.
All my stirring becomes quiet
around me like circles on water.
My tasks lie in their places
where I left them, asleep like cattle.

Then what is afraid of me comes
and lives a while in my sight.
What it fears in me leaves me,
and the fear of me leaves it.
It sings, and I hear its song.

Then what I am afraid of comes.
I live for a while in its sight.
What I fear in it leaves it,
and the fear of it leaves me.
It sings, and I hear its song.

After days of labor,
mute in my consternations,
I hear my song at last,
and I sing it.  As we sing,
the day turns, the trees move.

2 responses to “In celebration of September

  1. There is nothing to fear. Autumn is soon here. When the leaves turn golden our souls and spirit will be renewed. It was windy and cool today. I feel happier already. Thanks for the poem.

  2. Nothing like the early breezes in September.It’s clear now that Summer is over and a new fall will bring its changes.
    Florence weather is bearable again
    and my head is still dizzy with accumulated beauty.Talking of beauty It’s easy to OD in New York but also Amsterdam holds some jewels,
    namely Rembrandt and Vermeer.
    I am very grateful for the short visit to Mentone.
    Andy’s spirit and Lucy’s youthful mind made me foretaste the joys of aging.Bryant and Jennifer are very young in spirit too, I’m looking forward
    to smoke that pipe in the park in the 40s…
    Thank you Julia,
    MFA

Leave a Reply

