End magic

So, I hope everyone survived another round of well-wishing and shopping and holidays in general?  My favorite holiday is upon us and I’m not sure if I’ll get to write until after it’s gone.

Another cycle of endings that meet beginnings arrives and once more I find myself excited and anxious and nostalgic. It’s been a whirlwind kind of year.  What seems like ages ago (and in part is) some friends and I came up with the burn bowl. We wrote down the thing we wanted to be rid of or overcome in the new year and burned it at midnight. I think this year that will happen again.  For my part, I’d like to be rid of low self esteem. The burn bowl is an easier way to envision the end of what you want. Watching the little slip of paper flame and curl and float away. It’s one goodbye I never mind.

The other special magic of New Year’s Eve is that we can be more selective about what to do, how to do it, where to do it and with whom. Thanksgiving and the month of December, for those of us lucky enough, mean family time. But, there is no real obligation on Dec. 31st. So, you can spend it alone watching old movies, in a crowd dancing, bar hopping, listening to music, walking, doing laundry — however you want to. So few holidays give us this freedom. For my part, I’ll spend it with a few friends, hopefully listening to music, maybe dancing, definitely sipping some bubbly. I like the first night to reflect the way the rest of the year should go. It doesn’t always work out that way, of course, but starting out 2009 with a bit of hope isn’t so wrong.

Share if you want some of the things you want to let go of in the new year. Or a resolution. Or how you’ll spend it. And Happy New Year!! (a horn blows, confetti falls, and glasses clink)

One response to “End magic

  1. I love the burn bowl, and now have so many memories of who I was with and where I was when burning. I don’t yet know what I’ll write on my little scrolls this year. But I have a nice long drive ahead of me tonight to think about it! Letting go of something, making room for something new.

Leave a Reply

