Saturdaying

The appeal to extend Saturday’s usage as a verb is evident in the fact that it’s 9:49 a.m. and I’m not at work. There is a mug of coffee next to me (not a plastic travel cup). I have on mismatched pajamas with an old sweater and I made myself mushrooms and a fried egg for breakfast. Not only that, I have only loose plans for the day and all of them involve fun things — meeting with friends, going to a movie, introducing kitties to the rest of the apartment. In short, my priorities for the day run towards pleasure and reveal the part of me that is not in a suit, or in a meeting, or inwardly rolling my eyes at the inanity of “organization” in a corporation.

It’s Saturday. And I for one think this day deserves to be a verb. Ideally, yes, it should be used on Saturdays only, but then again, some of us are unable to experience the essence of a Saturday on a Saturday. (I’m remembering my own Saturdays at the bookstore. Lovely men customers. Sigh.) To those unfortunate ones working, then please, feel free to use Saturday at your discretion.

But now I have to run, I must Saturday for the rest of the day.

One response to “Saturdaying

  1. Ah, one good thing about working in the corporate world. I work two to three Saturdsys a month, as do most of us working in the front lines in public libraries. That’s when we do programming, and is the busiest day of the week.

Leave a Reply

