3 things

Today someone sent out one of those “getting to know you” type quizzes. I love them; especially on a slow working Friday. Anyway, Shelby and I discovered that we both love Great Danes (it wasn’t my answer, but I do love them). Therefore, we collaborated on our own version. I’m posting the questions and answers for myself. Email or post you own answers.

3 Things

3 books you recommend (impossibly narrow)

  • Nicole Krauss’s The History of Love
  • Melville’s Moby-Dick
  • Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin

3 movies you recommend

  • Lord of the Rings Trilogy (if for no other reason than the magical)
  • Who Framed Roger Rabbit?
  • Short Cuts or Magnolia (I love an ensemble cast)

3 songs that put you in exactly the right mood

  • “Blue Moon” sung by Patsy Cline
  • “Sunday Kinda Love” sung by Etta James
  • “Tainted Love” by Soft Cell

3 places you want to visit

  • Stonehenge
  • Vietnam
  • Alaska

3 places you have been

  • Austria
  • Italy
  • Switzerland

3 people you miss the most

  • My grandmother and great aunt. Two women I wish I’d gotten to know better before they were gone.
  • Sandy Oates. One of mom’s friends from my childhood who was probably too dysfunctional for me to know as an adult.
  • Currently Lexie and Frank. Two friends that seem very far away right now.

3 memorable events

  • Garden parties at Shelby’s (too many great ones to single out)
  • Night of the 10th Moon Costume parties at the Mentone Springs Hotel.
  • January 24, 2004

3 famous people living or dead that you’d like to meet

  • Barack Obama
  • Jim Henson
  • Emily Dickinson

3 nightmare situations

  • Anything involving me climbing the Eiffel Tower or any high structure of stairs
  • I had this dream once where a hair grew out of my pupil. I’m still not recovered.
  • Not being able to get in touch with my family when I have one of my bad mojo vibes.

3 things you’d do on your day off just for fun

  • Roll my boss’s house
  • Have drinks with friends
  • Enjoy a journey walk/drive/hike/trip

3 nicknames you have had

  • J-bird (thanks Duncan)
  • Jules, Junior, Spaz (again, thanks Duncan)
  • Julayah (Either Lori or myself are to blame due to odd spell checking or bad typing. Can’t remember which.)

3 childhood pets

  • Peter Muffin the king of Cameron Street. Dogs still fear his catness.
  • Snowball and Blondie (2 white cats that lost their sanity when we moved to the hotel).
  • Plato and Christie (literally became attached due to umm, puppy love)

3 things about your job you like

  • Students
  • Books
  • Kooky faculty

3 things about your job you don’t like

  • Bosses
  • Hours
  • Dress code (can you believe I can’t wear jeans on Friday???)

3 dream careers

  • Writer
  • Comedian
  • Explorer/Scientist
  • (I know only 3, but it should be mentioned that I would never turn down the female lead role opposite Matt Damon, Johnny Depp or Jon Stewart.)

3 regrets

  • Not traveling more while living in Europe.
  • Not publishing anything.
  • Not being honest in past relationships about who I am and what I want out of life.

3 cars: your first, your current and your dream car

  • 1st = hand me down Nissan Maxima 1984 (maybe??). It talked to me randomly.
  • Current = 1998 Lexus (another hand me down — the best hand me down ever).
  • Dream = tie: 2000 Ford Thunderbird Convertible or a 1966-68 Ford Mustang Convertible.

3 random facts or oddities about yourself

  • I have to keep my hair short or I’ll pick at imaginary split ends to the point of needing to be locked up.
  • I become physically uncomfortable if more than 3 people are looking at me at once.
  • I used to be incredibly paranoid about white vans. Let’s hope that has passed since I last lived here.

3 people that impacted your life

Other than the normal.

  • David Bottoms because he encouraged me to write.
  • Several guys that taught me not to trust.
  • My brother for teaching me to read, and therefore, to escape.

3 of your worst qualities

  • Not trusting
  • Forgetfulness
  • Temper and bile

3 of your best qualities

  • Humour
  • Compassion from empathy
  • Honesty

One response to “3 things

  1. oops, should’ve looked at yours before filling mine out. and oh, wow, I’ll never climb the Eiffel Tower again.

Leave a Reply

