Befana

It’s the day before Befana here. La Befana is a witch that belatedly goes out searching for the baby in the manger and she is more popular in Italy than Santa Claus. Needless to say, I love her. The night before the Epiphany she leaves children treats or coal — depending on their behavior. Sound familiar?

Her popularity seems unexpected in a place where beauty is idealized. Obvious proof that a good story can sway public opinion. And she is the official end of the holiday season. (Of course the Italians celebrate longer than the rest of us!) So, take a moment and reflect on the good stories in your life and enjoy a bit of wicked with your spiritual self.

Consider that your treat, from me to you. And now for the lump of coal:

Unemployment sounds warning about the economy.

sorry, I had to.

4 responses to “Befana

  1. Any holiday that includes a witch is fine by me.

  2. Hi Julia,

    I popped in to wish you a Happy New Year! Befana sure is interesting — loved the graphic, and the related story! You write so beautifully about your life experiences. I’m right there when I read your writing.

    Regarding the last few posts, I agree with your mom. Tallahassee is one of the most stunning places I’ve ever seen. I’ve lived many places in the States and have traveled abroad, but have not lived in another country. There’s no place that can rival Tally and the surrounding area for beauty in my opinion. But then, I adore trees, which is tough now that I live in the high desert. And yes, the Tennessee hills are gorgeous! I don’t know what those things have to do with Wal-Mart.

    I was working at Strozier when Bush was “re-elected.” Most of us were so depressed that it was like a funeral there that day. Yeah, I’ve been reading the bad news in Times, and am certainly lucky that I have a fantastic job in a library with solid funding. Yet, I miss my family who live 420 miles away.

    You are very fortunate that you could make the choice you did. Obligations can get in the way to keep many people from making such a choice (even if we want to), especially as we get older. Sometimes choices that we make at an earlier time of life limit the choices we can make later. Moving to a nearby state was a choice I made when I couldn’t get a job near my family. I had worked too hard and had spent too much money for that degree, and couldn’t go back to journalism because I had shut the doors on that choice. So I can relate to what you’re saying — the choice was right but there is always sadness of what we’ve (at least for a time) lost as we move forward into that next chapter of our life’s story.

    Here’s a link to the website my assistant and I just built. Hope you check it out and enjoy. http://caldwell.lili.org/node/113.

    Here’s to a great year for you, rejoicing in your life and choices.

    Kimbre
    from Goldstein

  3. Do you remember that character in Austria that terrorized children after Christmas? I think it was a witch; and some parents had a person dressed up in black clothes come to their house and they left coal or rocks or something. It would be cruel except most children do enjoy being afraid when they know it is pretend; and it only last a few moments. Thanks to Kimbre for appreciating my Tennessee hills! Unlike a certain gentleman who now thinks he is British.

  4. Good Idea fot the Befana… Greetings!!!
    NotitiAE for Befana at this link:

    http://notitiae.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/la-befana/

Leave a Reply

