Keep the strike alive

Sure, admittedly I was pissed about being home for over a month and not being able to watch new Jon Stewart shows. But, as Shelby and I discussed last night, perhaps boredom and the loss of escapism will propel people to become aware of what is going on around them and then become incredibly angry. Because anger, when focused toward change, can be a powerful thing.

And I’ve been angry for a very long time, but I lack focus. But for now, I’ll focus. Well, focus to the extent that I will randomly find an article that reveals the true black-hearted, soulless depth that our government seems to emit from. Today, we can see that depth from Alaska. Or should I say the rape of Alaska’s depths.

Alaska oil exploration to begin

Oh sure, I could’ve picked any number of things, the war, our rights, etc. etc. etc. In fact, in almost every facet of life, you can find an example of where George W. Bush is essentially rubbing shit in our faces. We are bad bad dogs, right? We deserve to be punished. And when we can’t be punished, well then surely nature can.

So enjoy the article. And while all of the good stuff is on hold due to the writers rightly striking, my advice is every few hours just click on you computer where it says “latest headlines” and read a few. Then start a shit storm people, we don’t deserve this.

6 responses to “Keep the strike alive

  1. Bravo! I love our collective shit storm. We need to set your Mom and Dad up with a blog. The the shit will really start to fly!

  2. I’m torn about the Alaska oil exploration. It seems like an effort is being made to reduce the impact on the wildlife. Not only that, reducing our dependency on foreign oil seems to be a necessary step for our country. I know, I know, reducing our dependency on oil all together is necessary, but that can’t happen over night. There are gasoline cars on the road that will be on the road for many years to come. We can begin to introduce other forms of energy, but for one we will need to figure out where to set up the nuclear plants that will be required to create the hydrogen fuel cells. The NIMBYs won’t want them anywhere already developed. Environmentalists won’t want them anywhere undeveloped. So then what? Alaska is this country’s last great undeveloped frontier. Unless our population decreases or we all start riding bicycles, we are going to continue to have a great demand for energy and Alaska may be our only hope for providing it, in some form or another.

  3. According to the New York Times:

    “The oil resources off Alaska’s coast amount to some 27 billion barrels, according to government estimates, about the same as the original reserves of the giant Prudhoe Bay field discovered in 1968. That would be enough to satisfy America’s total oil consumption for three years if every last drop could be pumped, which is unlikely.”

    It makes much more sense to find other sources of energy than to risk trashing the place out of pure greed for only 3 yrs. supply! If only stupidity were in such short supply.

    We will be riding bicycles soon anyway, as gas prices continue to rise-up to $100 per barrel again today.

    On another subject, has anyone read The Road by Cormac McCarthy? (Sorry to use your blog for this, Pearl! I am just dying to talk to someone who has read it.)

  4. I’m going to have to agree with Cheryl on this one. 3 years is not worth the impact and damage it will do. But I like the idea of responsible procreation and people riding bikes. There was also an article in NYT (I think) about how one person in a civilized country consumes 32 X’s that of natural resources than someone from the 3rd world. So even if we all keep having babies, maybe our goal should be to, again, not leave such a huge imprint behind. Yes, you heard me right, I’m saying we all need to be a bit uncivilized.
    And no I haven’t read that Cheryl, should I? I do work at a bookstore . . .

  5. Yeah, I’ve heard if all the third world countries became as “civilized” as the first world countries, the Earth would not have the resources to sustain us.

    Gotta love feeling like a parasite.

  6. Parasite. Yes, I’d rather be symbiotic. Parasite is such a downer.

Leave a Reply

