Books and then some (post-Mailer edit)

Must be a Saturday. Sometimes I remember this is my bibliotecaria site and it makes me miss being an official librarian. And yet, my Saturdays are close to that here at the bookstore. Browsing through the Bookseller I was looking at everything coming out (or already there). Hate that it is an English magazine, but oh well.

Anyway, lots of depressing and interesting stuff. Several books released about autism and parenting. One of which, A Real Boy promises to be a tear jerker. Can’t help but remember Haddon’s fantastic Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time. If you haven’t read it, do. Also, a customer brought to my attention Mohsin Hamid’s The Reluctant Fundamentalist, pertinent, sounds good and short-listed for the Booker prize (This year’s winner was The Gathering by Anne Enright.)

 But all of this must wait. I’m now reading a very strange, inter-species, love story by China Miéville, Perdido Street Station. (China turns out is a dude, kind of hot too.) I can’t say I’d recommend this to everyone but if you like bizarre futuristic fantasy that makes the abnormal seem everyday and can stomach some indelicacies, then you should try it. (Thanks Lori for the introduction and mailing expense.) And I’m reading a translation of Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities with Luigi which is simply gorgeous. It is Kublai Kahn hearing Marco Polo’s descriptions of the different cities in his realm. Supposedly they are all Calvino’s interpretation of one city, the city, Venice. Lovely read in bed with some wine. Hate I can’t yet explore it in its native language. One day, one day.

And Lexie (my former roomie) has me tempted by Naomi Wolf’s The End of America: Letter of Warning to a Young Patriot. Obviously political, seems very much something mom and dad would like.

If you’re reading (or just wanting to), let me know what.

Edit: My friend Frank just sent me a message that Norman Mailer died. So, now I think my first reading of him is in order. The Naked and the Dead is calling to me. Any Mailer favorites you’d recommend?

7 responses to “Books and then some (post-Mailer edit)

  1. Alice Sebold’s The Almost Moon. The first book I have bought in hard back in forever. But I couldn’t wait. It is disturbing and very well written. I enjoyed both her other books so I knew that I’d like this one. Kevin is reading Gore Vidal’s Messiah. I have never been tempted by Vidal but Kevin’s recommendation was passionate, so I am tempted.

  2. I am reading “The Orchid Thief” by Susan Orlean. She takes me back to Florida and its insanity, and what’s left of its beauty. I have also poached wild orchids in Florida (with no clue it was illegal…I know, tell it to the judge.)

  3. I just finished “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter” but it was on CD. Does that count? You know me…I don’t have a whole lot of time to read but I really wanted to so i cheated and bought the book on CD. Is that really wrong??? I did buy in paperback “Eat, Pray, Love”. 🙂

  4. I just started reading The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. It hasn’t gripped me yet, meaning I haven’t been terribly motivated to actually pick up the book as opposed to just turning off the lights and going to sleep. I’m sure the story will pick up though. I think I might just be in a non-reading phase. I go through them every now and then.

  5. I just loaned Shadow of the Wind to Shelby (i haven’t read it yet). And Memory Keeper’s Daughter in my ever-growing to-read stack, ack. Jules, I’ve moved on to China’s Scar, which is set in the same world/time etc. as Perdido Street Station. Might not be as good, but i like this guy. I’m ashamed to say i haven’t read any Mailer. I think after reading th NYTimes obit that i’m going to start somewhere other than Naked & the Dead. Did you know he bit off part of Rip Torn’s ear . . . ?

    Debora and I were talking about Calvino yesterday.

  6. BTW…I’ve started a new book on CD. Since I don’t have time to actually read and I have that nice hour long commute with all the school buses in my way I’ve started listening to A Tale of Two Cities. I figured if I don’t have time to READ the classics again then I would at least LISTEN to them. And since part of the book is set in Paris I had to start with it. Wink, Wink…and no I have not heard anything on the job yet but you will be one of the first ones to know. 🙂 Keep your fingers crossed!!!

  7. Memory Keeper’s Daughter annoyed me after awhile. It starts off strong and then . . . anyway. Mendy you’ll have to let me know if it was good on CD. I can see that one being better heard.

Leave a Reply

