Thank you Michelle

For leading me to the Jena 6 madness. As a Southerner with a capital S I constantly try to explain that really racism is a problem the whole country faces. Unfortunately this story seems to prove me wrong.

And, as the article points out, it did not get the press coverage it deserved. Everyone needs to be aware of misconception and alienation and ESPECIALLY racism. North, South, Black, White, Hispanic, Asian, all of us, etc. This is what I’m talking about. Why? Why? WHY? Why do we continue to allow these things to go on?

Read it people, respond. There is no problem voicing your opinion to your senators. No one can hurt you for that (unless you threaten — which . . . anyway). Send an email. Write. Call Whatever it takes. Wars big and small (and there are no small wars) need ALL attention. Here’s the link to write or email any (pseudo or real) representative. (Click here! NOW)

Now, something that has been bothering me. Yesterday I posted and it brought out a comment that seemed to disparage a friend of my parents. Honestly, I admit I only met Jackie Malone once or twice, so I’m no judge. BUT, first and foremost, I’m a daddy’s girl and I trust my father about his opinion. He, like me, holds out till the very end. You really do have to prove yourself with us. Sad, yes, but true. However, I respect any differences to this perspective. That is who I am. Yet, I’ll put it this way. I wrote poems about Reagan-nomics, I used to refer to Nixon as the first evil; but then they died. And, whatever anyones’ grievance is against the dead — they are dead. To bastardize the dead is cowardice. So, if you have a problem with leaders in your community, or in the administration, or in any other living facet — BE BOLD. Let them have it. But once they are gone, they are gone. Let them rest in peace.

Love people! I’m having a revolution here. Hope you are doing the same.

5 responses to “Thank you Michelle

  1. Oh but shit storms are so fun! Embrace the passion. Quote me on that.

  2. Bravo Julia! for defending your dad, the dead, and freedom of speech. The quote that started the “passion” was from a plaque that Ms. Malone gave your dad, it is still in an old frame (with scratches) that hung by her desk. It now hangs on the wall by his, it reads: “Press On! Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not: nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent.
    Genius will not: unrewarded genius is almost a proverb; education alone will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.” Regardless of anyone’s pontifications or opinions, that message is true. Your dad lives by that daily; and so did our respected and loved Ms. Malone.

  3. Thank you Sandra for the whole quote. I was just about feeling the opposite today. You have given me a boost. (as usual) I miss and love you and Ray very much. Here’s hoping for a reunion sooooooooooon!

  4. You ask why there is racism? Every one has their own idea as to the why. Another question to ask would be the how-how is it with all the educated people, the internet, the MTV, the talent and education one can see everywhere around you- black, white chicano, asian etc., that ignorance and intolerance still persist? I think because it is easy to generalize; mob mentality rules. Every race and ethic group has its heros and evil doers…it is human nature to strike out at that which is different; unfortunately the few bad apples can subject the majority to endure the blame. Life is not fair, it is just the way it seems to be. It doesn’t have to be this way, but it seems that for every step forward a minority takes, there are some in the majority that resents the inroads- it also applies to gender, religion and sexual orientation. Hypocrisy is alive and well.

    kk

  5. I just read the story on the Jena 6- it spells out exactly what CNN Special Edition revealed in their background story of this town. Sad little place it is.

Leave a Reply

