Unbound-ingly yours

Dec. 21, 2006 will from now on be my personal independence day. Yesterday, I became the proud owner of nothing. The house home now to others, the car steered by a new driver, my address forwarded to my parents. As frighteningly unsure as it sounds, it is liberating. Buoyant even.

I even received a clean bill of health from the doctors and Helen, the difficult armoire, finally came home to the farm. Snug and amongst people and cats again, she is regaining her grand stature. All in all, a gleaming star of a stellar day.

The only blue spots come from parting. Parting with the lush vegetation, live oak trees, and beauty of Tallahassee. My lovely Southern town and the bitter sweet of my life there will be missed. But the people, as usual, made the best impression. So, goodbye to my former teachers, the best ex-bosses ever, a few ghosts and mostly to my friends Nancy, Sarah, and Mark F. Sorry it was not done in person, but it is silly to say “bye” when I will continue to pester you in some form. (And Mark, I think I still owe you a dessert.)

Hopefully my giddy current continues to Florence where it will carry me to other facets, people, ideas, knowledge, and espresso. (And while I’m wishing, a job too.) Have a sparkling holiday season and may 2007 bring some dreams to reality. Love, peace, happiness.  I’ll see you on the other side of the pond (again).

6 responses to “Unbound-ingly yours

  1. My heart aches for the long hours of rocking and listening to the bossa nova endlessly as the pool water gently gurguled just behind me. I loved your Tally house. I love that I have so many memories of being happy and relaxed and bonded to you, my beautiful friend.

  2. I am so happy that you are able to pursue your dreams. You have so many talents and so much to contribute. Florence is lucky to have you. I look forward to sharing a bottle of wine with you once again.

    Until then,
    Love always…write often

    Shane

  3. I became curious about what you were up to, so traveled to the blog address that you provided to our internship class last spring. No surprise to me that you are going back to Italy, and I do wish you all the happiness in the world there. When do you leave?

    I’m in the Northwest now near my family, and just accepted a children’s librarian job in a town near Boise. It is beautiful here, but I miss the lush Tallahassee, too.

    Kimbre (from Goldstein days)

  4. I always love reading your posts and I thank you in deep sincerity for the wishes you extend for the New Year. I know that Florence will greet you like an old friend. And I know that you will soar. I look forward to reading about it.

  5. Ah, dearest Julia, I’m so happy for your traipsing off to Europe, for your wonderfully care-free attitude and desire to just go and do what you do … you’re amazing! I hope to see you in Florence next year …

  6. It’s been a while since I commented, but I have continued to enjoy reading of you. Someday, I hope to actually meet you in person, and will look forward to reading of Florence in the meantime. Blessed, peaceful and joyous New Year to you and all you love.

Leave a Reply

