blue skies, nothing but

In my effort of struggling with one of life’s decisions, I found myself ambling along my hood of Santa Croce. The sky was blue, the day was bright, the sunglasses were worn. Eating some Riso y Frutti de Bosco gelato while walking through what promises to be a beautiful day, made everything irrelevant except for that moment. With a Coca-Cola Light in my pocket, I had everything I needed. 

The street peddlers are out in full-force and Florence has begun to shut streets down due to high pedestrian traffic. It’s nice to be able to move wherever your feet want to take you under the sun. This really is a wonderful place to be and so free of burdens and the weight of the world. It is almost like vacation.

That’s why my decision was finally made, gelato cup in hand. I’m coming home in August. Stasis, even brilliant beautiful stasis, has to come to an end at some point. I’ve reached that point. So, I’ve turned down an opportunity to extend my time here. But to me, it is more of a moving forward. Va bene!

(Thanks to the few of you that helped. I really did listen, weigh, and hear what you offered me. In the end, I am doing what I know I must.)

4 responses to “blue skies, nothing but

  1. I know that was a tough decision to make. Have you read your freewillastrology horoscope today? Julia, you’ve always been that brave rebel and the quote from Gandhi is dead on… “Every moment of your life is infinitely creative and the universe is endlessly bountiful. Just put forth a clear enough request, and everything your heart desires must come to you.” Life has a way of putting great opportunities in your path so know that coming back stateside is just another part of your adventure and the JPWWT (Julia Padgett World-Wide Tour).
    BTW…will you be bringing your bed back stateside??? LOL

  2. When I read the first words Blue Skys I started humming that old tune and I can’t get it out of my mind! I was afraid that your decision was to stay. (i am selfish, but I miss you). The skys are so blue here today, and my heart is soaring. My princess is coming home! Enjoy the spring of Florence! But the turning leaves of autumn will greet you as will this mother’s emply arms. Hallelujah! (this is the first time I have ever used this word). But I know what it means this morning. Julia! Joy! they are the synonymous.

  3. This means I have to hurry up and come visit, huh? Hope you’ll be finding a job in North Carolina . . . I’m selfish, too, Sandra! 🙂

  4. Umm, hello, yes Will (et al) get your butt in gear and come over!

Leave a Reply

