Look down

Postcards are everywhere. True of any tourist center. There is one that shows the bell tower reflected in a puddle on the street. It’s actually quite nice as postcards go. I bought it but haven’t managed to send it off yet.

So it is raining here, which I appreciate — love a good shower. And I was kind of in a hurry to get to work this morning, slept late, running late, no coffee kind of brain haze going on and I was looking down and began noticing the reflections of these massive stone buildings around me. Then I started realizing that I’m walking on stone, not asphalt or concrete. From there I spiraled somewhere into the question of how much this place must weigh. And the age of it all hit me, and the rain and the fog. And my rushing seemed pointless. So I stopped, looked up, looked down. Place and time. You can’t ever fix it, but you can feel it. Capische?

4 responses to “Look down

  1. so please send postcards, yes? did the one i goofily mailed to your apartment ever arrive? i need to send one to the bibliotec.

    after a night of rain and some pretty good howling rain (probably the north edge of Sandy’s storm), atlanta is puddle-filled today as well. and i about wiped out on my iced-over front porch steps.

    do the cobblestones get icy?

  2. cobble stones do get icy.
    funny story about mail. I saw in my neighbor’s mailbox a card that had my name on it. so I performed a slight miracle involving patience and skeleton keys and pried it out of their box (probably commited a felony too, but who cares, I’m a dumb american right). The strange thing was that it wasn’t even one of my landlord’s boxes, it was some other box (maybe the lawyers that share my building). But, alas, it was not your postcard. Someone else sent me a very sweet card. Again, try to encourage the use of the FSU address. I think it’s best considering I’m starting a life of crime trying to get mail here.

  3. I can so completely understand your moment of recognition. When you all of a sudden realize that you’re walking on centuries old structures. When I lived in Belgium I had that sort of experience often and I never quite got over it. Or used to it. I lived near Tournai, which is where Childiric (the grandfather of Charlemagne) was buried. Years earlier they discovered his grave accidentally in a simple, non-descript church that I would not normally pay much attention to. No massive cathedral burial was this. One day I was walking to a lesson and they had found a 600-year-old grave site under a road that I had walked on every day to get to my lesson. Fantastic.

    I hope you never get used to it either. Tourist experiences someplace like that is nothing compared to day-to-day living!

  4. Eric, I knew you’d get it. It is just strange to try to express — these moments of now and past blending.

Leave a Reply

