Mela

I never understood the reason why it was an apple that the serpent offered Eve in the Garden of Eden. Apples are fine, I like them, I’ve enjoyed them greatly in pies. But that would not be my choice to bring about the fall of man. Something more tempting — blueberries or strawberries, or juicier — oranges or tangerines, some fruit that hinted at our perverse nature — pomegranates, bananas. To all of you students of theology, I know there is debate as to what the fruit really was supposed to be, but I’m going with the American accepted fruit of the fall — an apple. Just seems odd.

Until the other day. I recognized them, so they had that going for them. Even said Gala, so I thought I knew what was in store for me. I put my little plastic gloves on (a very cute cultural tidbit is that when in a supermarket, never touch the fruit or veggies with your bare hands) and selected 3. Thought about them later that evening and cut one up. Oh serpent, you tricky devil. It was . . . well, let’s just say I’ll never view an apple the same way and to be very obvious, I’ll also call it divine. Apples here engage your tongue and senses. You get this shock of sweet, juice, happiness that you don’t quite expect. They are so good restaraunts serve them for dessert. And I’ve had a chocolate torte here that was the equivalent of a warm chocolate blanket to the soul. I would still want the apple. Trust me, the fall of man is worth it.

5 responses to “Mela

  1. To be fair, Eve gave Adam the fruit form the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil. It was just fruit, never specifically an apple. The apple part is our modern mythology. For fruit that would be the downfall of mankind, I vote for the mango, of course because of the juice. But also because you can’t eat the skin, so eating it in the first place is a challenge. And secondly, becaue the pulp get stuck between your teeth and that would piss you off even in paradise because there was no floss yet.

  2. I only apples with cheese so pick up some Brunello and cheese while in Tuscany and enjoy cheese, apple, and wine. That will be paradise. Love you!

  3. After reading this post, I simply had to go and look up the verse. I am now very curious how the apple was selected as the forbidden fruit of choice. Fortunately, I was able to make use of one of our wedding presents…a bible. I found the verse that says, “The woman saw that the tree was good for food, pleasing to the eyes and desirable for gaining wisdom”. I just looked at a picture of an apple tree and I just don’t see it. As a man myself, I would be much more tempted by a Mango, Kiwi or Strawberry.

    Shane

  4. I had to show you guys this excerpt from Answers.com. I especially liked the marijuanna theory 🙂

    The Book of Enoch 31:4, purporting to be written by the antediluvian prophet Enoch, describes the tree of knowledge as follows:

    “It was like a species of the tamarind tree, bearing fruit which resembled grapes extremely fine; and its fragrance extended to a considerable distance. I exclaimed, How beautiful is this tree, and how delightful is its appearance!”

    In western art, the fruit is most commonly depicted as an apple. One possible reason for this arises from a medieval pun. It was a source of humor to monks that the Latin term for evil (malus) was similar to the word of apple (malum). Thus it was often said that by eating the malum (apple), Eve contracted malus (evil). There is, however, no textual or historical evidence by which to argue the literalness of this image.

    Jewish thought contains additional options. Rabbi Meir says: “The fruit of (the Tree of Knowledge of Good-and-Evil) was a grape…”; Rabbi Nechemia says: “It was a fig…”; Rabbi Yehuda says: “It was wheat…” Talmud, Brachot 40a

    The reason it may have been a fig is that they use fig leaves to cover themself after eating it, either because the leaves were nearby, or because God creates the cure before the illness, and the same tree that caused the problem is also used to remedy it. Some commentators hold that it might have been a grape, and that Eve actually made, and drank, wine.

    Ethno-botanists have proposed the iboga plant (Tabernanthe iboga) as the Tree of Knowledge. The ground up bark contains a dissociative substance, ibogaine, which has been traditionally used in Bwiti religious ceremony in Central Africa. Other hallucinogens, in particular the Fly agaric mushroom, have also been proposed as the Tree.

    Christian sects like the Coptics of Jamaica, and other peoples of faith, especially the Rastafarians believe it to be the Marijuana plant.

  5. See, I knew there was controversy, but had no idea how much. Thanks! And a mango, now I can see that, but you can’t eat the skin and I think sin should be easy. Well, I mean, if I were the devil I would want sin to be easy. Righteousness seems more difficult. Still, until you’ve eaten an apple over here, don’t doubt it’s modern depiction of being the fruit of knowledge and the fall of man.
    Maijuana and wheat seem the two most unlikely of the theories. I don’t think either would taste good just eaten like that. Talk about cotton mouth. Ugh. Now fig and grape, hmmm, I could see that, but I’m sticking w/Italian apples.

Leave a Reply

