Fiesole

For some of you this is a repeat. Sorry.  

So I went to the hilltop town of Fiesole Friday and walked on Roman and Etruscan ruins. The hills are dotted with Italian cypress and Olive trees. Do I need to say it is beautiful. Florence is stretched out below you with the Duomo’s dome dominating the city scape. Fiesole has an old ampitheatre that stages shows and concerts in the Summer. I’m going back for the view alone.  

Will sent me a great book Are We There Yet? by David Levithan. In it a character asks one of the brothers, “Wonder why we wander?” He later realizes we wander to discover.

3 responses to “Fiesole

  1. The prettiest pictures were left out. The ones with Julia in them. 🙂
    mjf

  2. Thanks Mark. That is sweet but I was trying to not have my odd image all over the place :). I remembered yesterday that a year ago I was walking to the Music library and students were sunbathing on Jan.10th. Here I wore a wool coat, gloves, scarf, silk long johns, long sleeve shirt and thick pants (and was still chilly walking home last night). Send some warm thoughts my way!

  3. It’s a balmy 72 in Raleigh today. But I am so glad you have that super cute scarf to wrap up in.

Leave a Reply

